20th November 2019

On Tuesday 19th November we celebrated our staff and volunteers with a special awards ceremony held at The Dome.

The night, led by Master of Ceremonies Bob Smytherman, saw 31 awards given out across our services, including prizes for ‘Dementia Champion’ and ‘Making a Difference’. The Awards were attended by 120 guests, including nominated staff and volunteers, members of our Board of Trustees and Deborah Evans from international charity Meaningful Care Matters.


Suzanne Millard, Guild Care's CEO, and Bob Smytherman, the night's Master of Ceremonies

Special recognition was given to staff and services that have been nominated for or won national awards this year. These included Haviland House, who were finalists in the National Dementia Care Award’s 'Best Dementia Care Home' category, and Eileen Garbutt, Haviland’s Health and Wellbeing Coordinator, who won the National Activity Providers Association’s 'Best Activity Coordinator' Award.


Haviland House, who received a Special Recognition award and Sandra Tester, winner of the Making a Difference award

Long serving volunteers and staff were also celebrated at the ceremony, including volunteer Mary Sturmey and Caer Gwent’s Hotel Services Manager Rosemarie McGonnigle, who have both been with our charity for 30 years.

Guild Care’s CEO, Suzanne Millard, said: “These Awards are one way in which we - Guild Care’s Senior Management Team and Board of Trustees - can say thank you and acknowledge the great work that is being undertaken by our fantastic staff and volunteers, who help to keep our great charity running.

“Caring really is at the heart of everything that we do at Guild Care and it’s very clear from the words of the nominations we received that the people who work and volunteer for us really do have wonderful and caring natures, making this charity a truly great place to work.”


Leanne Jones, winner of the Central Services award, and Paul Hewett, winner of the Haviland House Care Home Worker award


Mandy Ford, recipient of a Special Recognition award, and Jo Sherman, winner of the Administrator award

!-- Google Tag Manager (noscript) -->